AFCAT   Apply Now

AFCAT is a specific gateway for both male and female candidates who wish to join the Indian Air Force for as an Air Warrior both Short Service Commission in Flying Branch and Permanent Commission/Short Service Commission in Ground Duties for both Technical and Non-Technical roles.

What really is a better way to live life with pride and honour and sacrifice it in time of need with valour and dignity? The Indian Air Force gives you one of the best and finest career opportunities one can come across – you get to fly the best machines in the world, you get to make use of the cutting-edge technologies there are, you get to be a part of the best-in-class organisation and much more, all while serving the Nation & giving your bit to it. The Air Force have thrown many laurels to the Air Warriors since its inception.Your decision to join the Air Force is an achievement in itself, & by choosing Spartan Defence Academy you have made concrete your dream of becoming an Air Warrior through AFCAT. You can find various other possible entries to join the Air Force in Spartan Defence Academy. 

The Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) is conducted by the Indian Air Force. The exam is held twice a year in February and August, respectively, to select Class-I Gazetted Officers in Flying and Ground Duties (Technical and Non-Technical).

Candidates are selected based on their performance in online exam and Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) Interview. Candidates opting for Ground Duty (Technical) branch are required to appear in both AFCAT and Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT)


  • Forms- May & June & Number December
  • Exam- February& September
  • SSB (AFCAT-I) – September / October/ November
  • SSB (AFCAT –II) – March / April/ May

Education : Graduation (min 3 years) in any discipline with min 60% marks and have passed Maths and Physics as subject at 10+2 level B.E/ B.Tech from a recognized University with min 60% marks.
Age Limit : 20 to 24 years
Upper age limit for candidates holding valid and Current Commercial Pilot License issued by DGCA (India) is relaxed up to 26 years

Mode of Selection  - AFCAT selection process involves following steps :

  1. Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) and Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT - only for Technical branch).
  2. AFSB Interview
  3. Screening test
  4. Psychological test, Group test, Medical Test and Interview
  5. CPSS (Computerized Pilot Selection System) and/ or PABT only for Flying branch

© 2023 Saprtan Defence Academy All Rights Reserved. UK Webtech
Privacy Policy , Terms & Conditions